Thailand

thailand

To be honest, Thailand has never been on my list of countries to visit. (Sigh) I am still not sure exactly what it is that was a bit ‘off putting’ or the reason why I didn’t want to go there that made me exclude it from my list of places to see. But I was in desperate need of a holiday and being South African, last-minute travel plans do not always allow for visa applications (South Africans can get a visa upon arrival in Thailand…and almost nowhere else!). And that is exactly how I ended up choosing to go to Thailand. Well, that reason and because my dearest friend Theresa absolutely adores this place, and it doesn’t take much to twist my arm to travel anywhere.  And of course it doesn’t mean I do not love it now! I do. And as a rule, as with all my other travels, I normally do not go back to a place that I have already been to. Simply because there are so many other places to choose from. But, I might just have to break my own rule this once, because I simply cannot wait to go back.

There are a few things I did not know about Thailand before I went, (but do now thanks to wikipedia and the time spent lazing and reading in absolute bliss) and a fact that was most interesting to me is that Thailand is the only  Southeast Asian country never colonized by European Power. Interesting.

This trip also gave me the opportunity to sample as many Thai dishes as one possibly can since I’ve always loved Thai cuisine. And after indulging in many such dishes accompanied by the local ‘Singha’ and ‘Chang’ beer (got the ‘chang’ t-shirt to prove it) I look back at this trip and miss the precious time spent there… So, to my two ‘partners-in-crime’: When are we heading back..?!

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

monk

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

Lunch at Damnoen Saduak (floating market).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

thailand

